My Secret Garden

As summer comes to an end, one thing that I was quite passionate about was my garden and my flowers.  This is a place where I would not think, but just take in the beauty of each delicate plant.  I found a sense of peace and pride watching the beautifully colored blooms, vegetables, and herbs grow throughout the summer.  Their vibrant colors could brighten any dull day.  The gentle breeze brushing through the air brought a sense of calmness, and watching the bees pollinate the flowers provided me with happiness and left me with a smile.

Throughout the summer, I had two loyal hummingbirds that would make an appearance daily.  Seeing them fluttering around the feeder was an added bonus to the day!  I will share my hummingbird sugar water recipe with you that I used in my hummingbird feeder to attract them.

In addition to the beauty of my plants, hanging birdfeeders and windchimes were the perfect accents to create some fun to my backyard environment.  The animals can be quite entertaining.  We were fortunate here in PA to have a beautiful summer, but I am more than ready to move on to my favorite season fall!

Sugar Water Recipe for Hummingbirds

  • 4 cups water
  • 1 cup sugar
  1. In a pot, add 4 cups of water.
  2. Heat the water to a slight boil.
  3. Take the pot off of the burner and add the 1 cup of sugar.
  4. Stir the sugar and let the sugar water cool before pouring it into the hummingbird feeder.

110

(Look very closely to see the hummingbird!)

Leave a Reply

