National Coffee Day

coffee-heart

In honor of “National Coffee Day,”  I wanted to share this little story.  I was blessed and fortunate to have had the opportunity for many years to be a part of my Grandpap’s daily morning routine.  These were some of the best mornings of my life!  My Grandpap worked up until the age of 92.  He was passionate and loved the family business that he continued to grow from his father.  I would go to his house to pick him up and he always offered me a piece of chocolate of my choice from his assortment of hershey miniatures.  Once he was ready to start his day, we would have daily conversations while at his house and continue talking as I would drive him to his destinations for the day.  No matter whether the topics were good or bad, I always felt that life was going to be ok.  I would drive him to World Importing (Our deli), and he would walk around the store and check on everything to make sure it was in order.  While he gathered paperwork and completed his daily checklist routine, I would check his lottery tickets to see if he had won, and before we left, I poured us both a cup of coffee, and he made sure to give me a cookie every morning before we left to proceed to Romeo & Sons.  Those mornings have given me the best memories.  Words can’t describe how much I miss and cherish that morning routine!  What I would give to have another day to see his smile, embrace him in that hug, and have just one more cup of coffee with him… 

Leave a Reply

