Nailed It! My Thought on Matte Nails…

Nailed It!  My Thought on Matte Nails…

Recently, I have been seeing a lot of pretty matte nail colors for Fall.  As the seasons change from Fall into Winter, I am a huge fan of darker nail colors.  I wanted to try something a little more bold and out of my comfort zone, so I purchased, Sally Hansen-Hard as Nails-Xtreme Wear-Mellow Yellow. (As seen below)  I thought this golden nail color was worth a try.

As much as I would love to get weekly manicures, for the girl on a budget (like myself) that just isn’t possible, so I frequently trim and polish my own nails.  While browsing the many shades of nail polish, I came across Revlon’s-Transforming Effects-Matte Top Coat. (As seen below)  Due to my love of darker nails for the next few months, I thought this may be a fun twist and worth purchasing.

Here is the process that I used to paint my nails and get the “Matte” look!

  1. I painted my nails with a clear base coat. (Let dry)

  2. Next, I added a coat of polish. (Let dry) Once dried, I added the second coat of polish for a bolder color. (Let dry)

  3. Last, it was time for the “Matte” test! I painted the matte top coat on top of the dried polish and within minutes, I could see my shiny golden nails turn into matte golden nails!

I love this product!  Instead of buying a color that you like in a shiny color and one similar in a matte color, all you have to do is top the color you have with this matte top coat.  You can get two textures by only purchasing one nail polish!  I’m looking forward to using this product with the other nail polish colors that I already own!

matte-and-mellow-yellow-polish

Revlon-Matte Top Coat-Walmart-$3.97

Sally Hansen-Hard as Nails Xtreme Wear Nail Polish-Mellow Yellow-Walmart-$2.48

mellow-yellow-nails

Before:  Hard as Nails Xtreme Wear (Mellow Yellow)

matte-mellow-yellow-nails

After:  Revlon Matte Top Coat

Leave a Reply

