‘Tis the Season

‘Tis the Season…

Goodbye apples and pumpkin spice everything…hello to candy canes, peppermint bark, and pine! I love the holiday season that is approaching us! Christmas to me is the most magical time of the year! Bring on the lights and decorations, Christmas carols and baking, gift giving and traditions!

I sometimes ask myself, “Is it weird that at my age, I still get this excited about Christmas?” I can’t get enough of the live trees, wreaths, and garland, plus all of the new decorations and home accessories in the stores! (I Want It All, haha)

Aside from the fun of Christmas, there are many days that I would give anything to go back thirty some years and relive my most treasured and cherished holiday memories. In my heart, I have many memories that live on that sometimes make the glitz and glamor of the holiday fade away. I’m trying to let those wonderful times remind me why I love the Christmas season so much. Spending time with family and keeping up the cherished traditions is what seems to make me strive harder each year to outdo the last year and make this one better! Although I can’t turn back time and keep my loved ones around forever, I can challenge myself to mimic their ways and keep their traditions alive by doing what they would do to make the holidays so special…Honestly, looking back, they were the best times; they just felt magical! Every year we would leave from our home, and head to each of my grandparents homes. Christmas Eve was always spent on my dad’s side and Christmas day was spent on my mom’s side. So different, yet so much the same. There were different decorations, different traditional foods, but what remained the same was love that illuminated the rooms!

A few of the things that I am anticipating (and usually anticipate yearly) are picking out the (live) family Christmas tree and decorating it with ornaments that have been collected over the years. Helping my dad decorate our deli, World Importing for Christmas. Also, baking cookies (especially my mom’s sugar cookies) is one tradition that we cannot go without. Going to Christmas Eve mass as a family has been a tradition since I was born. Looking at how individuals decorate their yards and homes. Brainstorming for the “perfect” gift ideas. Writing and sending out Christmas cards. I try not to wait until last minute for wrapping gifts until Christmas Eve day, but that is usually what happens. Just thinking of these things makes me think that I need to come up with a December Bucket List!

All in all, I’m looking forward to seeing my family and friends! Everyone is so caught up in the craziness of life it will be nice to actually get together and spend time with each other one day out of the year!

snoopyxmas

Leave a Reply

